Travel Grant

Travel Grant Guidelines

The Travel Grant Committee for ISTS41 is pleased to announce that limited travel support is available to assist students and participants in their efforts to attend the Symposium. Priority will be given to individuals that are presenting, demonstrate a financial need, and are from an under-represented region. Individuals that feel they qualify for a travel grant should apply via the ISTS41 Registration Site (see application process below) before the 6th November 2022 deadline. No late applications will be considered.

Travel grant awards typically only provide support for lodging and should not be expected to cover other aspects of Symposium travel. Grant recipients are expected to attend the entire symposium, attend the ISTS plenary session, and volunteer for the symposium, as requested.

Applicants should apply to the region from which they are traveling, NOT where the research was conducted. Awarded grants will be announced in mid-January 2023. Please contact the appropriate Travel Grant Regional Chair (see below) with any questions.

To apply, follow this process:

  1. Log in or sign up as a new user on the ISTS41 Registration Site
  2. Register and provide full payment to attend ISTS41
  3. If applicable, submit your abstract to ISTS41 for consideration. Note that submitting an abstract is not required, but your chances of receiving a travel grant are greatly reduced for individuals not submitting an abstract.
  4. Following registration and receipt of full payment, the bottom of the ISTS41 Registration Site homepage will show an option for you to 'Apply for a ISTS Travel Grant' (see screenshot below) and include a link to complete the 'Travel Grant Application Form'

Travel Grant Support Contacts:

Please contact your appropriate Regional Travel Grant Chair (see below) with any questions:

Regional Chair:

Africa (except N. Africa): Angela Formia

Middle East and North Africa: ALan Rees

Caribbean (English speaking): Karen Eckert

Europe: Aliki Panagopoulou

Mexico, Central America and Spanish-speaking Caribbean: Jose Urteaga

Asia: Andrea Phillott

Oceania/Polynesia: Mark Hamann

USA & Canada: Kelly Stewart

South America: Alejandro Fallabrino

Committee Chair: Alexander Gaos